Am I Useless?


Sophie, the person who wrote the article “Why Are We So Hurtful To Others” here a little while ago, shares another article about how we treat each other. This is an area I am fascinated by, particularly in light of recent terrorist cruelty that is unspeakable in the acts done. How can we, as a society, learn to treat each other with respect and understand what it means to hurt someone to the point that they react in a way that is not their character? Thank you, Sophie for continuing to share your thoughts on bullying here. It is much appreciated. ~Alan Eisenberg


Bullying. That word stands alone. Alone like how a victim of bullying feels. I will never understand why some people feel they can gain power by bullying others and why being cruel makes them feel at the top of the pyramid. Why is it their priority in life to make others feel awful? Why does having a tough persona mean others have to suffer? I don’t understand and I probably never will.

I can’t help but compare two words: bullying and depression. Bullies become so
consumed in their power that they are oblivious to the serious effects their actions can have on another person. So many people of different ages have committed suicide after being bullied. So many young lives have ended and were taken away. How is this ok? It’s true others haven’t decided to take their own life but they do become seriously depressed, which can lead to the dangers of hurting one’s self.

Some may disagree and think that the abuse and behavior of a single person cannot lead to someone taking his or her life. To those people I ask, have you yourself ever experienced bullying? If you have not experienced any form of bullying than you cannot understand what victims are going through. Put yourself in their shoes, would you be upset if someone called you names or told you that you were worthless? How would you react to someone telling you that you weren’t good for anything and were useless on this earth? I can only assume that you would feel terrible and question yourself and wonder “Am I really useless?” No one wants to feel that way. Everyone wants something worth living for, something that makes him or her want to take on life challenges and say, “You hear me God? I am a human being and I’m going to kick some ass!”

It’s important to understand the effects of bullying and to understand that it is not ok. Bullying has become a word that sickens me because of how often it happens, and that it happened to me, and how many blameless people lose their life because of someone tormenting them. IT NEEDS TO END NOW.

~Sophie

5 thoughts on “Am I Useless?

  1. Reblogged this on The New Bullying Prevention and commented:
    Sophie makes some great points here and from my point of view as a survivor of Bullying and Mobbing, I confirm that those people (Bullies) lack Empathy and have a total disrespect for humanity, because they hurt and project it upon others and are only guided by greed and the satisfaction and pleasure of watching others suffer.
    They are also the ones responsible for all the chaos in the world today

  2. Thank you, Sophie, for sharing these important thoughts again today. The word “Bullying” is, like all bad words, just a word until action takes place. It is the strength inside us all that will overcome the long-term hurt. I have had too many I know take their life. I just want to prevent one more from doing so due to bullying.

  3. I appreciate your kind words and thank you for sharing my piece. The more we all stand up against bullying, the more we can hope that we help others and prevent lives from ending too soon. I want to protect others and if my own words can help, gradually it will become a kinder place. ~Sophie

  4. Pingback: Am I Useless? | Bullying Help

Leave a Reply

