Giving New Meaning to the Word Beautiful


Laura sent me her story and is also trying to raise funds to share her new book on bullying. Many times I think the same thing. There are so many great stories yet to be told that can help so many. I hope Laura has the opportunity to share the rest of hers as she shares a story here with you. ~Alan Eisenberg


When I was a young girl the other kids made fun of me because I wore large hearing aids and had a large under bit. They called me names Flat Face, Stupid and Ugly Girl on a daily basic. This caused me to shy away from other kids.

In my teen years my body grew faster than the other girls making me once again the target of harassment. I was an over achiever in art which created jealousy which turned into bullying. This one boy spit on me as I was siting in my class getting ready for History. He would say sexual things to me and tell me how ugly I was. He burned my hand by slamming a very hot cheese pizza face down on my hand burning it. He once opened my car door and started punching me and scratched me over and over again, just because I ignored him. He talk about my body and how odd-looking it was.

I would go home and cry in my room never saying a word to mom and dad. I was ashamed and confused. My 17 years old mind could not understand what was taking place, Also a virgin at the time I was confused by the sexual remarks.

When I was in college I would replay events in my mind, it was like watching a movie, only it was the same movie over and over again. No matter how hard I tried I was unable to stop thinking about the events that took place. Do to the years of being told I was ugly, I believed it which made it hard to interact with boys and made me become extreme shy.

In 2005 I sign up for MySpace and that same boy from high school found me. He wrote me an email to say how sorry he was for treating the way he did. I excepted his apology and thought it might bring me closers. However he started to bullied me online and making fun of things I wrote or photos I had posted. He would writing me emails telling me how stupid I was. At this time I was 23, He started to contact old high school friends and telling them I was talking about them in a negative light, this of course never happened. He also hosted a party just to make fun of me and later posting images online from his event. I started getting hate e-mail from people I did not know. He started a full-blown hate campaign for me. Leaving me helpless.

The only good thing to happen was I heard from some old friend who did not understand why someone would say such hurtful things about me. This back fired on him because I was able to reconnect with old friend who knew the real me.However still during this time after college I fell into a full blow depression and having low self confident. I never lifted the house and it made it almost impossible to find work. This went on for two years.

I went on to have bully bosses and had to leave my last job because of it. Four other of my friends had to leave for the same reason. Unfortunately there is nothing in the law that says they can’t bully us. People need to understand that bullies grow up into bully bosses.

Just in 2011 I had to start going through therapy to work though all the harassment that had taken place over the years. I was suffering from flashbacks, sleep disorder, depression, anxiety, fear, sham, guilt, and trauma. I had to go through EMDR therapy to process these memories, reducing their lingering effects. This type of therapy has stop the events playing over and over again in my mind. Just this year I started going to yoga as another form of therapy.

These bullies had affected my self-confident, personal relationships and self-worth. Just this year I have sign up for Facebook. I know I will be dealing with the effect of these bullies the rest of my life. I hope now to share my story and my art in hope of spreading awareness and making a change. No little girl or boy should believe they are something there not, but as I stated before If something is repeated said to you we all start to believe it.

My Book Giving New Meaning To The Word Beautiful is inspired by my abuse and fighting back saying everyone beautiful regardless of you age, sex, race, size or disability. Don’t let anyone make you feel you are less than BEAUTIFUL.

My book will be self published and sold as an ebook.

book online and digital copy will be available.

Please click the link below to view my page. This book will not happen with out you support.

Thank You! and Best Laura Jones

One thought on “Giving New Meaning to the Word Beautiful

  1. Laura, your story is very moving. I was bullied as a child, too, and I know how years and years of that affect us. This one boy who beat on you–and who later harassed you on facebook and lied to your old friends from high school and kept sending you nasty emails–I’m not a lawyer but it sounds as if he was breaking the law in some of that. If it happens again, speak to your local police, report it to facebook, block him, and speak to a lawyer.
    I think you have a story that can really help and yes, you should make it into a book. BUT if you do that, please do not make the mistake that many people make of selfpublishing your book without having an editor go over it to make sure there are no minor mistakes (of spelling, punctuation, grammar, or the like) and to be sure it reads very smoothly. Editors cost money, but it is money well spent, since you want to reach as many people as possible. Your story is important for people to know.
    I have heard good things of EMDR therapy–very good things–and I’m glad it has been helpful to you.
    I wish you the best.
    Paula

Leave a Reply

