A Question of Why (A Personal Story)


It takes a special person to share their personal stories online. We have come to expect that social media is the new norm and through these posts, we can spread the message that we are not alone. But we still always feel alone and that is just part of our human nature. As I read Callie’s story, I continually ask myself “why”? Why do people treat each other this way? How can we stop it and become the empathetic society we should be? Right now, I have yet to get the answers needed. ~Alan Eisenberg


I’m considered very intelligent and when I was in 7th grade did a girl named Caitlin start bullying me. I was never given a reason why except that I was always smiling. Daily she would threaten me that she would start a fight with me. I was kinda scared at that fact since not long ago did she beat up a girl named Sierra who was in really bad shape after. Caitlin even got the whole school against me, except the teachers. I would be shoved into the wall and tripped. My only friend was Kiera and since each grade is separated into two groups. Kiera and I were separated. My family didn’t know any of this and it continued the rest of that school year.

Funny how then when I’m in 8th grade does the teachers ask if I had a problem with bullying. Me I like to keep my problems to myself and it did stop in 8th grade. Though Caitlin was still treating me terrible.

9th grade I learned she was put on house arrest and I never saw her in school. Then a girl named Ally started to bully me and it was always in Choir and my teacher never did anything. First Ally put 4 or more packets of grape jelly in the hood of my jacket and so when I put my hood up there would be jelly all in my hair. I knew it was Ally since she sat behind me in Choir and everyone saw her do it but nobody told me about it till the next year.

Also in 9th grade Ally poured a whole bottle of water in my seat on several occasions and would hide and mess with my stuff so I would miss the bus to get home. Then Ally told her friend Tamera to spit in my bottle of water. I wasn’t told that till I was in my 10th grade year. A friend had seen Tamera spit in my water and laughed when I drank from it. That friend confronted Tamera and asked why she would do that. She answered because it was funny.

It took that entire year for the principal did anything even though I reported it to him since the beginning of school. The entire class knew I was bullied and they did nothing to stop it, not even my friend did or told me anything.

I told my family about the bullying that Ally did and all my brother does is tease me that Ally is my best friend when he knows that all she is, is a living nightmare. He even went as far to say he would hook us up and I’m a female. Lately I’ve had to deal with a past sexual abuse by a cousin of mine. So that just made the situation all the worse and my parents didn’t really pay any mind to it. I actually cried myself to sleep that night which I’ve done before and called my friend Darrell who knows everything about me and he told me that he would tell my brother off for it. I at least have one true friend that will remain at my side.

~Callie

4 thoughts on “A Question of Why (A Personal Story)

  1. I was bullied as a child, right through to graduation. It was horrible, but now I am an award winning, multi-published author. I realize now that high school was only a small part of my life. I survived. Now I use bullies to inspire the villains in my historical romantic adventure novels. The bad guys always get dealt with in the end. An author’s revenge is pretty sweet! I would love to come share my story with you and your readers.
    http://www.killarneysheffieldromanceauthor.com/

Leave a Reply

