The Worry Wart…That’s Me


worry“Worrying is carrying tomorrow’s load with today’s strength- carrying two days at once. It is moving into tomorrow ahead of time. Worrying doesn’t empty tomorrow of its sorrow, it empties today of its strength.”― Corrie ten Boom

As long as I can remember, I have been a worrier. In some ways it has probably helped me. For example, I have never gotten a speeding ticket, because I’m worried if I speed I’ll get caught. But it’s much more of a burden than a strength as Corrie ten Boom so well stated in the above quote. I sit and worry about what I can’t control. Control is the key. I want it, but don’t and can’t know what tomorrow brings. So I can’t control it and so I sit and worry.

What will it be like?

Will there be a way to escape?

Who will be there?

Will I be feeling good or feeling bad?

Will people like me?

What if I can’t do what’s expected of me?

I could go on and on, but why? They are questions I can’t answer. And neither can you. Will someone bully me again? Will they bully you? You can’t know. So now, here’s an adult that worries about things all the time. I worry about my kids, my wife, my life. I don’t think I want to, but control continues to push worry to the front. But now I know about it…and you do too. I am a reading a book called “The Worry Trap” right now. That’s what it is, a trap. But there is an escape hatch. You just have to find it. I can’t say I have all the solutions, but continuing to worry can’t be one of them.

I have to focus more on the now and stop looking back and worrying about the future. I have to know that I have control only of what I can and not worry so much of what I can’t. Yes, I’ve been the proverbial worry wart, but a wart is just a virus that can be cured.

And that’s my plan.

Leave a Reply

