The Football Bully (A Personal Story)


You can never tell the suffering inside of people from how they might appear outside. I’m sure if you met Duane, the author of this story, you would not know of the pain he had when he was bullied. It stays and doesn’t go away and it takes time and help to heal. ~Alan Eisenberg


I was a normal High School freshman, I was popular in the big city and joined the ROTC and played back yard football, then I transferred to a small town high school my mid freshman year.

I was the new kid and knew no one locally except for my family. Younger cousins only in this small town. Had no problems the rest of my freshman year and through the summer of school break. I returned to high school my sophomore year and decided to join the football team and knew right away the other players were all friends and played ball together starting in elementary school.

bully and victim on lockerYou had your rich farmers your local elected officials kids and then your trying to make it pay check to pay check family kids. I fell in the try to make it not popular and want to be liked kid. So I joined the football team and throughout my sophomore year I began to be picked on by this one local boy my age on a regular basis during football practice.

I was pushed and popped with a towel and laughed at and made fun of. This went on for most of my sophomore year, I never told anyone or made it known to anyone because it was embarrassing and it only happened during practice and maybe once or twice in the hall upon passing. I thought that if I didn’t say anything it would go away, but it didn’t and it was because others would edge him on and it was funny at my expense.

So one day in the locker room I made up my mind I had enough and if he bullied me one more time I was going to stand up for myself and if it caused me to be beat up then that was what was going to happen. He approached me and began to pick and push me and I all of a sudden and remember I just took it before and never made a sound before, I just all of a sudden push him off me and yelled back at him and told him if he wanted to fight less go and everyone got silent and I think I embarrassed him because he did nothing but go back to his locker and get dressed and left, and everyone else did the same, I was finally left alone and not bullied anymore by him or anyone.

I still wasn’t popular but had a few friends and enjoyed my last two years of high school not bullied. I just wish I had help some of the other kids in school that were being bullied also, but I guess I just was glade it wasn’t me anymore, I do feel sorry and wish I knew what I knew today and could go back to educate them. But it’s never too late to educate and help with stopping this type of crime. Just wanted to share with you, and I still remember all the details to this day 35+ years later.

~Duane

One thought on “The Football Bully (A Personal Story)

  1. Hi my name is Pam Turner I would like to tell my store how I was bully  all my life because . Becauae I can’t read or spell very good so people treat me bad. So I want to help people with this bully how people treat each other so I told my store to Ken Hinkley it came a book call through troubled waters. Because I was Different and other kids. So I would like to tell you my store you can reach me at this e-mail ok thank you your truly Pam Turner

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

