Returning to Where it All Began


LexComEdHappy New Year to all out there. We can only hope that 2013 brings a new direction and continued support in the challenge of stopping and recovering from bullying. But 2013 brings some big news for me and this website.

There are some days that you don’t ever expect to come. A few weeks ago I received an email from Director of the Lexington, Massachusetts Community Education. This is a group that focuses on education issues both adult and youth in my old hometown of Lexington, MA where most of my bullying stories I shared on this website come from. They have invited me to travel back to Lexington to speak on the subject of bullying. I consider this the culmination of the last almost 6 years of time I have spent on this website and the research and time I have put in to subject of bullying recovery.

When I first started this site, I had not idea it would reach back to Lexington, MA, much less many of the spots around the world that I receive feedback from. I truly didn’t think that my little voice could reach anyone. I am both honored and excited to return to Lexington, MA to have an opportunity to reconnect with the community there and share my stories while trying to help and close wounds that bullying creates.

I will be speaking in Lexington at the Lexington Depot 13 on March 5th at 7:30pm. I hope any folks in the Lexington area can come to the presentation and share the evening with the community and me. You can get the details for the event by going to page 6 in the Lexington Community Education Catalog here:

 http://www.lexingtoncommunityed.org/forms/LCE_2013_Winter_Catalog.pdf

I am planning a big “comeback” presentation with hopefully some of the folks from the stories I have told in these pages joining me for an evening of sharing and closing of wounds that were opened 30 years ago. It may be hard to believe that time goes by like that, but the hurt caused by bullying can go on. But that’s why this site is here. I certainly am looking forward to the return trip and a chance to talk with the community I left so many years ago. It is hard to say, hard to believe. . .but I am actually looking forward to it. It’s certainly been a long ride to this moment. Thank you for continuing to be part of it by reading and sharing your stories and thoughts.

~Alan Eisenberg

Leave a Reply

