The Hard Next Chapter


So, time has gone by and I’m finding it tough to write the next chapter of the story here. It’s not that I don’t want to continue and finish the stories of my youth of being bullied, there are only a few stories left, but it’s more that the last story told was the most painful one to tell. Even years later, it still haunts me to have to deal with the use of a weapon to defend myself.

That said, this Sunday I read a very interesting story in The Washington Post that brought reality to my situation. The story told of a boy in Prince William County, VA that was dealing with a bully situation. A bully was stalking him and his younger brother. The article goes on to say that the boy ran home and got one of those plastic pellet guns to scare off the bully. What happened next is a lesson in the difference between my youth and today’s zero tolerance society.

That apparently ended the incident but began a 12-year-old’s hands-on lesson on zero-tolerance policies in today’s schools. Administrators, mindful of fatal shootings that have occurred on or near campuses across the country, say they must intervene swiftly and forcefully any time gun threats emerge.

In general, a student who makes a credible threat against another student, teacher or the school is immediately suspended and later taken to the school with parents for questioning by a psychologist and social worker.

“We’re looking at whether the student is rejected or excluded by peers. You’re looking at a history of violence,” said Audrey Davis, a clinical psychologist who is the Prince William school system’s threat-assessment coordinator. “We’ve had kids who say, ‘I feel like the Virginia Tech guy.’ I have students who have revealed they are having hallucinations, that demons are speaking to them, telling them to destroy.”

I guess I got lucky. This boy has been suspended now for over 10 days. I imagine there is some debate about whether he was defending himself or would he have gotten a real gun and killed someone. This is a real issue and by punishing the boy who was being bullied, I have to question, are they punishing the bully too for creating the incident?

One thought on “The Hard Next Chapter

  1. It is a rare occasion to see a bully actually being punished. I was bullied for 3 years of my life, it began as soon as I started high school and ended almost exatly 3 years later when it all became to much and my mother pulled me out. In that time I was bullied by practically everyone at the school. I was alienated for being a “lesbian” and an “emo”, of which I am neither. Nobody was punished. Yes they may have been spoken to at one time or another but I was in the principle’s office every lunch and recess telling him what was happening and he couldn’t have cared less. I was contemplating suicide, and was admitted to hospital a few times. After all this my principle could still laugh in my mothers face and say “She’s dramatic. She’s a teenager. he’s just like everyone else, they all go through this”
    Excuse me, but I beg to differ.
    Nobody deserves to be bullied, even if it is minor.
    My old school has a 100% no tollerance on bullying yet it was tollerated all through my school career.
    Bullies are getting away with everything they do and if something isn’t done about them, they will carry this behaviour for the rest of their lives.
    So, I’m sorry to rant and rave, but in answer to your question I HIGHLY doubt they have done anythng to punish the bully. It’s too much paperwork. People don’t care until it’s their child being bullied.
    I hate all of the people who vitimised me because I have to remember them for the REST OF MY LIFE. Yet they remember me until they find a better target to harass. So fair isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

