These Are The Best…Of Times


This post is not so much about Bullying, but about how I coped with the aloneness during those bully years and one of my “special gifts” that was a positive part of those years. My childhood years were the 70’s and teen years were the 80’s. Those were memorable years in one area for me in particular, music.

 The radio was my blanket, my stuffed animal, my comfort and escape from childhood. I would turn on my “transister radio” and later my “boom box” and I could escape with the music. The lyrics were always personal stories to me and I have always been able to pick up lyrics to songs quickly and enjoy singing along, thinking about the words and not thinking about the world outside for a while.

As an adult, I realized the gift that these RADIO YEARS had given me. I can rattle off artists, albums, songs, and years for the 70’s and 80’s era from the top of my head. For some reason it is easy for me to associate where I was and what I was doing when I first heard songs from these eras. It’s a great party trick, but it drives my wife crazy when I do it. I can’t make any money from it and it’s what I call my useless trivia skill. For some it’s sports, for me it’s music.

But, with this gift, I also can be taken emotionally be surprise. A song will come on from my eras and I’ll find myself in tears, welled up with emotion just hearing it. It takes me back immediately and strongly and floods me with memories, not all bad, from those informative years. Today I was driving and on came “Best of Times” by Styx. Now, I probably haven’t heard that song in 10 years, but the minute it came on, I was flooded with memories and wiping tears out of my eyes. Why? I’m not sure I know. But it didn’t feel bad. It felt like an old friend from 1981 coming back to visit me after a long absence.

That’s how the 70’s and 80’s era music feels to me. It was a positive during those hard growing up years. Those years weren’t all bad and I am glad that the music is there for me. To remind me and bring me back to times I enjoyed and feelings I had as a child. That is one set of memories I hope never fade away.

“I know you feel these are the worst of times
I do believe it’s true
When people lock their doors and hide inside
Rumor has it it’s the end of Paradise
But I know, if the world just passed us by
Baby I know, you wouldn’t have to cry

The best of times are when I’m alone with you
Some rain some shine, we’ll make this a world for two
Our memories of yesterday will last a lifetime
We’ll take the best, forget the rest
And someday we’ll find these are the best of times
These are the best of times” – Styx

Leave a Reply

